PRESS RELEASE UTSA's Frank Harris honored as Wuerffel Trophy nominee

Javi C

Dec 20, 2012
San Antonio, TX
ATLANTA — UTSA senior Frank Harris has been announced as a nominee for the Wuerffel Trophy, college football’s premier award for community service.

Harris is one of 115 players up for the award named after Danny Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from Florida. The Wuerffel Trophy is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach, Florida. The trophy honors college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society and inspire greater service in the world.

“I continue to be impressed with the number of college football players who are achieving on the field and still dedicating time to make a positive impact in their community,” said Wuerffel. “The student-athletes on this watch list are positively impacting organizations throughout the country.”

Earlier this week, Harris was named the C-USA Preseason Offensive Player of the Year and last week he was selected for the Davey O’Brien Award National Quarterback Award and Maxwell Award preseason watch lists.

A semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien and Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards a year ago, the Schertz Clemens High School product, enters the 2022 campaign with a 20-8 record as UTSA’s starting QB. The lefthander has thrown for 5,293 yards and 42 touchdowns on 488-of-739 passing (.660) and rushed for 1,220 yards and 15 TDs as a Roadrunner.

Harris guided UTSA to the most successful season in program history in 2021, helping lead the Roadrunners to a 12-2 record, their first conference championship and top-25 ranking and to their second straight and third overall bowl game. A two-time national player of the week last fall, he set school single-season records for passing yards (3,177), completions (398), touchdowns (27), attempts (263), completion percentage (.661), passing efficiency (152.5), total offense (3,743) and touchdowns responsible for (33). He also rushed for 566 yards — a program record for a QB — and six scores and caught three passes for 36 yards and a TD en route to Dave Campbell’s Texas Football Offensive Player of the Year and second-team all-conference accolades.

Off the field, Harris has a long list of community service projects. He has volunteered his time with the San Antonio Food Bank, UTSA’s Rowdy Readers program that visits local elementary schools, San Antonio’s annual Martin Luther King Jr. Day March, UTSA Day of Service, UTSA Diploma Dash, the Bryce Strong Foundation and the San Antonio Police Officers Association Blue Cares outreach program. He also has spent his time helping out with the For The Kids dance marathon that benefits pediatric cancer patients and their families, as well as with collecting donated food items for CANtoberfest and during the 2021 winter storm that knocked out power and water to thousands of area residents. Additionally, he has given hours of his time hosting local youth football camps and clinics and speaking to numerous local youth sports teams.

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities' Sports Information Departments and will close on October 14. An up-to-date list of nominees can be found at beginning on August 1. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on November 1, and finalists will be announced on November 22.

The formal announcement of the 2022 recipient is scheduled to be made on December 8, and the presentation of the 2022 Wuerffel Trophy will occur on February 24, 2023.

UTSA will open its 12th season of play and third under 2021 C-USA Coach of the Year Jeff Traylor on Sept. 3against Houston. Kickoff is set for 2:30 p.m. at the Alamodome in a game that will be televised nationally on CBS Sports Network.

Tickets are on sale now by calling or texting 210-458-UTSA (8872) or visiting

2022 Wuerffel Trophy Nominees

Jordan Battle, Alabama, Sr., DB

Miller Gibbs, Appalachian State, Sr., TE

Jordan Morgan, Arizona, So., OL

Case Hatch, Arizona State, Sr., RB/TE

Cam Little, Arkansas, So., K

Eddie Smith, Arkansas State, Jr., DB

Marquel Broughton, Army, Sr., DB

Nick Brahms, Auburn, Sr., OL

Brandon Martin, Ball State, Sr., LB

Ben Sims, Baylor, Sr., TE

John Ojukwu, Boise State, Sr., OL

Taji Johnson, Boston College. Jr., WR

Austin Osborne, Bowling Green, Sr., WR

Matt McDonald, Bowling Green, Sr., QB

Max Michel, Buffalo, Sr., DL

Tyler Batty, BYU, So., DL

Matthew Cindric, Cal, Sr., OL

Trey Paster, Cal, Jr., LB

Kendrick Blake Jr., Charlotte, Jr., WR

Wilson Huber, Cincinnati, Sr., LB

Will Shipley, Clemson, So., RB

Joshka Gustav, Colorado, So., LB

A’Jon Vivens, Colorado State, Sr., RB

DeWayne Carter, Duke, Jr., DL

Holton Ahlers, East Carolina, Sr., QB

Tariq Speights, Eastern Michigan, Sr., LB

Shykieim Pace, FIU, So., DL

Nay'Quan Wright, Florida, Jr., RB

Dillan Gibbons, Florida State, Sr., OL

Jalen Cropper, Fresno State, Sr., WR

Kearis Jackson, Georgia, Sr., WR/ST

Myles Sims, Georgia Tech, Jr., DB

Jonah Kahahawai-Welch, Hawai’i, Sr., DL

Donavan Mutin, Houston, Sr., LB

Tailon Leitzsey, Illinois, Sr., DB

Jack Tuttle, Indiana, Sr., QB

Anthony Johnson Jr., Iowa State, Sr., DB

Sam Burt, Kansas, Sr., DL

Will Howard, Kansas State, Jr., QB

Isaac Vance, Kent State, Sr., WR

Jalen Geiger, Kentucky, Jr., DB

Chris Smith, Louisiana, Jr., RB

Joshua Mote, Louisiana Tech, Sr., OL

Ali Gaye, LSU, Sr., DL

Mike Jones Jr., LSU, Sr., LB

Rasheen Ali, Marshall, So., RB

Tyriek Bell, Marshall, Sr., LB

Anthony Pecorella, Maryland, Sr., P

Quindell Johnson, Memphis, Sr., DB

Clay James, Miami, Jr., LS

Blake Corum, Michigan, Jr., RB

Tre Mosley, Michigan State, Sr., WR

Jordan Ferguson, Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL

Tanner Morgan, Minnesota, Sr., QB

Austin Williams, Mississippi State, Sr., WR

Barrett Banister, Missouri, Sr., WR

Bijan Nichols, Navy, Sr., K

Christopher Toudle, NC State, Jr., TE

Ethan Piper, Nebraska, Jr., OL

Christian Swint, Nevada, Sr., DB

Luke Wysong, New Mexico, So., WR

Carson Pharris, New Mexico State, So., OL

Nick Rattin, Northern Illinois, Jr., LB

Jack Kiser, Notre Dame, Jr., LB

Kam Babb, Ohio State, Jr. WR

Marvin Mims, Oklahoma, Jr., WR

Brendon Evers, Oklahoma State, Sr., DL

B.R. Hatcher, Old Dominion, Jr., LS

KD Hill, Ole Miss, Sr., DL

Alex Austin, Oregon State, So., DB

Sean Clifford, Penn State, Sr., QB

Deslin Alexandre, Pittsburgh, Sr., DL

Aidan O'Connell, Purdue, Sr., QB

Ikenna Enechukwu, Rice, Jr., DL

Mayan Ahanotu, Rutgers, Sr., DL

Michael Shawcroft, San Diego State, Sr., LB

Chevan Cordeiro, San Jose State, Jr., QB

Terrance Newman, SMU, Sr., DL

Keith Gallmon Jr., South Alabama, Sr., DB

MarShawn Lloyd, South Carolina, So., RB

Swayze Bozeman, Southern Miss, Sr., LB

John Humphreys, Stanford, Jr., WR

Patrick Fields, Stanford, Sr., DB

Tanner McKee, Stanford, Jr., QB

Aaron Bolinsky, Syracuse, Sr., LS

Andrew Coker, TCU, Jr., OL

Isaac Moore, Temple, Sr., OL

Jacob Warren, Tennessee, Sr., TE

Bijan Robinson, Texas, Jr., RB

Layden Robinson, Texas A&M, Jr., OL

Micah Hilts, Texas State, Jr., TE

Tony Bradford Jr., Texas Tech, Sr., DL

Mitchell Berg, Toledo, Sr., OL

Craig Slocum Jr., Troy, Sr., DB

Nick Anderson, Tulane, Sr., LB

Davis Brin, Tulsa, Sr., QB

Sidney Wells, UAB, Sr., OL

Isaiah Bowser, UCF, Sr., RB

Chase Griffin, UCLA, Jr., QB

Robert Burns, UConn, Sr., RB

Ellis Merriweather, UMass, Sr., RB

Caleb Williams, USC, So., QB

Antonio Grier, USF, Sr., LB

Dalton Kincaid, Utah, Sr., TE

Andre Grayson, Utah State, Sr., DB

Deion Hankins, UTEP, So., RB

Frank Harris, UTSA, Sr., QB

Ben Bresnahan, Vanderbilt, Sr., TE

Chayce Chalmers, Virginia, Jr., DB

Isaiah Chaney, Wake Forest, So., DL

Alex Cook, Washington, Sr., DB

Travion Brown, Washington State, Jr., LB

Zach Frazier, West Virginia, Jr., OL

Juwuan Jones, Western Kentucky, Sr., DL

Boone Bonnema, Western Michigan, So., LB