PRESS RELEASE UTSA's Frank Harris named to Manning Award preseason watch list

Javi C

Dec 20, 2012
San Antonio, TX
NEW ORLEANS —UTSA senior Frank Harris has been named to the preseason watch list for the Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Harris, a product of Schertz Clemens High School, is one of 30 quarterbacks on the watch list for the Manning Award heading into the 2022 season. The winner will again be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowls.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

“It’s always an exciting time of year when college football gets rolling again,” said Archie Manning. “We’re excited to spotlight these 30 outstanding young men as Manning Award candidates based on what they’ve done already at their schools. And like every year, we know there will be a lot of quarterbacks who step forward during the season as their roles develop or as they settle into new teams. We plan to make additions to our Watch List by midseason.”

This is the latest on a long list of preseason accolades for Harris, who on July 29 was selected by the Walter Camp Foundation as a Walter Camp Player of the Year Preseason Player to Watch. The day prior he was announced as a nominee for the Wuerffel Trophy, college football’s premier award for community service. Additionally, Harris was named the 2022 C-USA Preseason Offensive Player of the Year and has been selected to preseason watch lists for the Davey O’Brien Award National Quarterback Award, Maxwell Award and Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

A semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien and Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards a year ago, he enters the 2022 campaign with a 20-8 record as UTSA’s starting QB. The lefthander has thrown for 5,293 yards and 42 touchdowns on 488-of-739 passing (.660) and rushed for 1,220 yards and 15 TDs as a Roadrunner.

Harris guided UTSA to the most successful season in program history in 2021, helping lead the Roadrunners to a 12-2 record, their first conference championship and top-25 ranking and to their second straight and third overall bowl game. A two-time national player of the week last fall, he set school single-season records for passing yards (3,177), completions (398), touchdowns (27), attempts (263), completion percentage (.661), passing efficiency (152.5), total offense (3,743) and touchdowns responsible for (33). He also rushed for 566 yards — a program record for a QB — and six scores and caught three passes for 36 yards and a TD en route to Dave Campbell’s Texas Football Offensive Player of the Year and second-team all-conference accolades.

Inclusion on the Watch List is not necessary for the quarterbacks to be selected for the honor. Additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List during the season. Finalists will be selected prior to the postseason and the winner will be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

“The Allstate Sugar Bowl is proud to recognize these outstanding quarterbacks from around the country,” said Jeff Hundley, the CEO of the Allstate Sugar Bowl. “We’re also honored that this will be our 19th year sponsoring the Manning Award. This gives the Sugar Bowl the opportunity to honor outstanding young men and to thank the Manning family for everything they’ve done for college football.”

UTSA will open its 12th season of play and third under 2021 C-USA Coach of the Year Jeff Traylor on Saturday, Sept. 3, against Houston. Kickoff is set for 2:30 p.m. at the Alamodome in a game that will be televised nationally on CBS Sports Network.

Tickets are on sale now by calling or texting 210-458-UTSA (8872) or visiting

2022 Manning Award Preseason Watch List (2021 stats)

Name, Class, SchoolQBRPct.YardsTDINTRushing
Brennan Armstrong, Sr., Virginia75.465.24,4493110251 yds, 9 TDs
Stetson Bennett, Sr., Georgia86.764.52,862297259 yds, 1 TD
Logan Bonner, Sr., Utah State63.761.23,6283612NA
Chase Brice, Sr., Appalachian State67.962.13,3372711149 yds, 3 TDs
Sean Clifford, Sr., Penn State66.2613,107218163 yds, 2 TDs
Malik Cunningham, Sr., Louisville81.9622,9411961,031 yds, 20 TDs
Brett Gabbert, Jr., Miami (Ohio)64.559.52,648266151 yds, 1 TD
Jake Haener, Sr., Fresno State66.567.14,0963393 TDs
Jaren Hall, Jr., BYU7863.92,583205307 yds, 3 TDs
Frank Harris, Sr., UTSA 75.8 66.1 3,177 27 6 566 yds, 6 TDs
Sam Hartman, Jr., Wake Forest79.758.94,2283914363 yds, 11 TDs
Seth Henigan, So., Memphis62.959.83,322258147 yds
Hendon Hooker, Sr., Tennessee77.968.22,945313620 yds, 5 TDs
KJ Jefferson, Jr., Arkansas76.767.32,676214664 yds, 6 TDs
Devin Leary, Jr., NC State71.965.73,4333552 TDs
Will Levis, Sr., Kentucky76.8662,8262413376 yds, 9 TDs
Grayson McCall, Sr., Coastal Carolina81.5732,873273290 yds, 4 TDs
Tanner Mordecai, Sr., SMU69.667.83,6283912202 yds, 2 TDs
Aidan O’Connell, Sr., Purdue85.771.63,71228111 TD
Chris Reynolds, Sr., Charlotte53.363.92,680269174 yds, 4 TDs
Cameron Rising, Jr., Utah84.263.82,493205499 yds, 6 TDs
Will Rogers, Jr., Mississippi State7473.94,739369NA
Spencer Sanders, Sr., Oklahoma St.68.162.12,8392012668 yds, 6 TDs
C.J. Stroud, So., Ohio State91.671.94,435446NA
Taulia Tagovailoa, Jr., Maryland70.369.23,860261177 yds, 2 TDs
Dorian Thompson-Robinson, Sr., UCLA7962.22,409216609 yds, 9 TDs
Payton Thorne, Jr., Michigan State77.760.43,2402710181 yds, 4 TDs
Clayton Tune, Sr., Houston71.568.23,5463010154 yds, 2 TDs
Tyler Van Dyke, So., Miami80.162.32,9312561 TD
Bryce Young, Jr., Alabama87.666.94,8724773 TDs