PRESS RELEASE UTSA's Frank Harris named to Maxwell Award watch list

Javi C

Dec 20, 2012
San Antonio, TX
SOUTHAMPTON, Pa. — UTSA quarterback Frank Harris has been named to the Maxwell Award watch list, which was unveiled on Monday by the Maxwell Football Club.

Harris, a senior from Schertz Clemens High School, is one of 85 FBS players, including one of four from Conference USA, on the watch list for the 86th Maxwell Award presented annually to the outstanding player in college football.

A semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien and Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards a year ago, Harris enters the 2022 campaign with a 20-8 record as UTSA’s starting quarterback. The lefthander has thrown for 5,293 yards and 42 touchdowns on 488-of-739 passing (.660) and rushed for 1,220 yards and 15 TDs as a Roadrunner.

Harris guided UTSA to the most successful season in program history in 2021, helping lead the Roadrunners to a 12-2 record, their first conference championship and top-25 ranking and to their second straight and third overall bowl game. A two-time national player of the week last fall, he set school single-season records for passing yards (3,177), completions (398), touchdowns (27), attempts (263), completion percentage (.661), passing efficiency (152.5), total offense (3,743) and touchdowns responsible for (33). He also rushed for 566 yards — a program record for a QB — and six scores and caught three passes for 36 yards and a TD en route to Dave Campbell’s Texas Football Offensive Player of the Year and second-team all-conference accolades.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell who was a former standout at the Swarthmore College and a renowned sports writer and football official.

The Maxwell Football Club has once again partnered with Pro Football Focus (PFF), XOS and Phil Steele Publications as selection committee partners. PFF provides detailed metrics and performance-based assessments to selection committee staff, and several senior PFF analysts are members of our selection committee. Phil Steele’s College Football Preview is generally recognized as the most complete preseason magazine. XOS provides the Maxwell Club selection committee with access to game footage from all FBS colleges.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Nov. 1, while the three finalists for the Maxwell Award will be unveiled Nov. 22. The winner of the 86th Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 8.The formal presentations of the Maxwell Award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards live from Atlantic City, New Jersey, on March 10, 2023.

UTSA will open its 12th season of play and third under 2021 C-USA Coach of the Year Jeff Traylor on Sept. 3against Houston. Kickoff is set for 2:30 p.m. at the Alamodome in a game that will be televised nationally on CBS Sports Network.

Tickets are on sale now by calling or texting 210-458-UTSA (8872) or visiting