PRESS RELEASE UTSA's Jared Sackett named to Lou Groza Award preseason watch list

Javi C

Dec 20, 2012
San Antonio, TX
WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. — UTSA senior Jared Sackett has been named to the preseason watch list for the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award as announced on Wednesday by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.

Sackett, a graduate transfer who is in his second stint as a Roadrunner, is one of 30 players — including one of three from Conference USA — on this year’s list. The Fort Worth native was a Lou Groza Award semifinalist in each of his first two seasons with UTSA.

Sackett started his career with UTSA in 2017, making 19 of 22 field goals despite not kicking in the season opener. The Fort Worth native finished that fall ranked third in the Football Bowl Subdivision in field goals per game (1.9) and ninth in field-goal percentage (.864) en route to earning USA TODAY Freshman All-America, C-USA All-Freshman Team and honorable mention all-conference accolades.

As a sophomore in 2018, Sackett connected on 14-of-19 field goals (73.7%), including nine of 40-plus yards. He ended the year ranked fourth in C-USA and 30th nationally in field goals per game (1.27) while collecting honorable mention all-league recognition.

After transferring to Arkansas in 2019 and sitting out that season, he moved on to USF where he made 5 of 7 field goals in 2020.

Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Nov. 3. From this list, a panel of more than 100 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, former Groza finalists, and current NFL kickers selects the top three finalists for the award, announced on Nov. 22. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Dec. 8during the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

The 31st Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl, recognizes the three finalists during a celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet at the West Palm Beach Marriott on Dec. 5.

The award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

UTSA will open its 12th season of play and third under 2021 C-USA Coach of the Year Jeff Traylor on Sept. 3against Houston. Kickoff is set for 2:30 p.m. at the Alamodome in a game that will be televised nationally on CBS Sports Network.

Tickets are on sale now by calling or texting 210-458-UTSA (8872) or visiting

2022 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Preseason Watch List

Jacob Barnes, Louisiana Tech

Andres Borregales, Miami (Fla.)

Cayden Camper, Colorado State

Ryan Coe, Cincinnati

Owen Daffer, East Carolina

Jonah Dalmas, Boise State

Mitchell Fineran, Purdue

Blake Grupe, Notre Dame

Daniel Gutierrez, UNLV

Seth Keller, Texas State

Casey Legg, West Virginia

Cam Little, Arkansas

Zack Long, Tulsa

Tyler Loop, Arizona

Connor Lytton, Boston College

Harrison Mevis, Missouri

Jake Moody, Michigan

Brayden Narveson, Western Kentucky

Jake Oldroyd, BYU

Jack Podlesny, Georgia

B.T. Potter, Clemson

Will Reichard, Alabama

John Richardson, Northern Illinois

Noah Ruggles, Ohio State

Chad Ryland, Maryland

Jared Sackett, UTSA

Matthew Shipley, Hawai’i

Spencer Shrader, USF

Andre Szmyt, Syracuse

Brandon Talton, Nevada