PRESS RELEASE UTSA's Zakhari Franklin lands on Biletnikoff Award preseason watch list

Javi C

Dec 20, 2012
San Antonio, TX
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — UTSA senior Zakhari Franklin has landed on the preseason watch list for the Biletnikoff Award for the second straight season, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., announced on Thursday.

Franklin is one of 44 players — including one of five from Conference USA — on the preseason watch list for the Biletnikoff Award, which recognizes the college football season's outstanding FBS receiver. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football's outstanding receiver, not merely college football's outstanding wide receiver.

Franklin is coming off a record-setting season in 2021 in which he helped lead the Roadrunners to a 12-2 record, the C-USA title, the program’s first top-25 ranking and to their second straight and third overall bowl game. The Cedar Hill High School product smashed UTSA single-season standards for receptions (81), receiving yards (1,027), receiving yards per game (79.0) and receiving touchdowns (12) en route to first-team all-conference and second-team Dave Campbell's Texas Football All-Texas College honors.

Franklin also matched his own school mark from 2020 with four 100-yard receiving games last fall, including a season-high 155 yards on 10 grabs in the 37-30 road win over Illinois, to give him a program-best nine for his career. His 2021 campaign vaulted him atop the UTSA all-time charts for receptions (168), receiving yards (2,212) and TD catches (22). He also owns the program’s single-game record for receptions with 12, which he turned into 138 yards and a pair of scores versus Army in 2020.

The 2022 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented the Biletnikoff Award trophy by TQC Foundation Chairman Mark Ryan and the banquet keynote speaker at the black-tie Biletnikoff Award Banquet & Celebration at the Dunlap Champions Club, at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on March 4, 2023.

The semifinalists, finalists, and award recipient are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of 640 prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers.

UTSA will open its 12th season of play and third under 2021 C-USA Coach of the Year Jeff Traylor on Sept. 3against Houston. Kickoff is set for 2:30 p.m. at the Alamodome in a game that will be televised nationally on CBS Sports Network.

Tickets are on sale now by calling or texting 210-458-UTSA (8872) or visiting

The 2022 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List

Jordan Addison, USC

Hassan Beydoun, Eastern Michigan

Jake Bobo, UCLA

Kayshon Boutte, LSU

Brock Bowers, Georgia

Roderic Burns, North Texas

Jermaine Burton, Alabama

Dante Cephas, Kent State

Tyrese Chambers, FIU

Jacob Cowing, Arizona

Jalen Cropper, Fresno State

Daewood Davis, WKU

Nathaniel Dell, Houston

Josh Downs, North Carolina

Grant DuBose, Charlotte

Zay Flowers, Boston College

Zakhari Franklin, UTSA

Corey Gammage, Marshall

Te'Vailance Hunt, Arkansas State

Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State

Jayshon Jackson, Ball State

Rakim Jarrett, Maryland

Ali Jennings III, Old Dominion

Quentin Johnston, TCU

Nick Mardner, Cincinnati

Michael Mayer, Notre Dame

Marvin Mims, Oklahoma

Puka Nacua, BYU

Isaiah Neyor, Texas

Ryan O'Keefe, UCF

A.T. Perry, Wake Forest

Jayden Reed, Michigan State

Corey Rucker, South Carolina

Trayvon Rudolph, NIU

Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Ohio State

Keytaon Thompson, Virginia

Cedric Tillman, Tennessee

Mitchell Tinsley, Penn State

Parker Washington, Penn State

Xavier Weaver, South Florida

Dontayvion Wicks, Virginia

Quian Williams, Buffalo

Xavier Worthy, Texas