PRESS RELEASE Wisdom tabbed for Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list

Javi C

Dec 20, 2012
San Antonio, TX
OKLAHOMA CITY — UTSA senior Rashad Wisdom has been named to the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list for the second straight season, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame (OSHOF) and Jim Thorpe Association announced on Monday.

Wisdom, a Converse Judson High School product, is one of 35 players — and the only one from Conference USA — on the list for the award that goes to the best defensive back in college football based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character.

Last week, Wisdom was unveiled as a nominee for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, which honors student-athletes with exemplary community service, academic dedication and impact on and off the field.

A two-time all-conference performer at safety, Wisdom has paced the Roadrunners in total tackles in each of the past two seasons, helping guide UTSA to 19 wins, a conference championship and a pair of bowl games during that timeframe. A two-time Dave Campbell's Texas Football All-Texas College Team selection, he has registered 227 tackles, 158 solo stops, 12 tackles for loss, five interceptions, four forced fumbles, a pair of sacks and a fumble recovery. He has returned two of his interceptions for touchdowns, which is tied for the school record.

Last season, Wisdom recorded 88 tackles, 67 solo stops, four tackles for loss, six pass breakups and a forced fumble to help lead UTSA to a 12-2 record, the C-USA title, the program's first top-25 ranking and the Frisco Bowl. He logged 10-plus tackles three times, including a season-high 13 in the 52-46 road win over Western Kentucky.

A screening committee consisting of OSHOF members monitors all defensive backs throughout the season, including watch list players, and narrows the field to up to 15 semifinalists in October. This committee reconvenes on the Monday before Thanksgiving to select three award finalists. The three finalists are submitted to a national panel of over 250 sportswriters, sportscasters, former players and coaches who vote to determine the winner of the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award.

The winner will be announced on ESPN's live presentation of The Home Depot College Football Awards in December. The official presentation of the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award takes place in Oklahoma City.

The award was established in 1986 and is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive back. In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon. The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award is universally accepted as one of the nation's top collegiate sports honors.

UTSA will open its 12th season of play and third under 2021 C-USA Coach of the Year Jeff Traylor on Sept. 3 against Houston. Kickoff is set for 2:30 p.m. at the Alamodome in a game that will be televised nationally on CBS Sports Network.

Tickets are on sale now by calling or texting 210-458-UTSA (8872) or visiting

Jordan Anderson, Bowling Green, Sr.
Jordan Battle, Alabama, Sr.
Cole Bishop, Utah, So.
Kyu Blu Kelly, Stanford, Sr.
Julius Brents, Kansas State, Sr.
Davonte Brown, UCF, Jr.
CJ Brown, Northern Illinois,
So. Ji'Ayir Brown, Penn State, Sr.
Denzel Burke, Ohio State, So.
Jalen Catalon, Arkansas, Jr.
Kei'Trel Clark, Louisville, Jr.
Xavier Henderson, Michigan State, Sr.
Ronnie Hickman, Ohio State, Jr.
Brandon Hill, Pittsburgh, Jr.
Tre'Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU, Sr.
Dorian Jackson, Western Michigan, Sr.
Quindell Johnson, Memphis, Sr.
Antonio Johnson, Texas A&M, Jr.
Steven Jones, Jr., Appalachian State, Sr.
Brandon Joseph, Notre Dame, Jr.
Antavious Lane, Georgia State, Jr.
Kenny Logan, Jr., Kansas, Sr.
Darrell Luter, Jr., South Alabama, Sr.
Riley Moss, Iowa, Sr.
Andrew Mukuba, Clemson, So.
Gervarrius Owens, Houston, Sr.
Clark Phillips III, Utah, So.
Joey Porter, Jr., Penn State, Jr.
Kelee Ringo, Georgia, So.
Jammie Robinson, Florida State, Jr.
JL Skinner, Boise State, Sr.
Cam Smith, South Carolina, Jr.
Christopher Smith, Georgia, Sr.
Evan Williams, Fresno State, Sr.
Rashad Wisdom, UTSA, Sr.